REVIEWS

“amalfi Italian Restaurant”

Reviewed 12 May 2015

brilliant food, fab size portions. lovely helpful staff. worth every penny. recommended by the pub next door and busy even on Sunday night with many local and frequent customers. always a good sign of consistent quality.

“Amazing place”

Reviewed 8 May 2015

Myself and a friend where in Glasgow for a take that concert. We had no idea where to go for something to eat so glad we found this gem. The staff are amazing very friendly. Ann the manager couldn't have done more. The food was top class, high quality ingredients and cooked to perfection. If you want Italian food this is the place to go. Will b bk again xx

“A gem of a restaurant with great friendly service.”

Reviewed 7 May 2015

Found this by luck whilst walking through Glasgow. We both had lunch menu and the portions were great and the pizza very tasty. Staff were excellent and took time to chat with you. Very clean well laid out restaurant. Recommended.

“Maben 14”

Reviewed 30 April 2015

Visited twice last week, a dinner, and an early pre-theatre meal. On both occasions an excellent choice of meals, good friendly service and reasonable prices. A ministrone soup beyond compare, mussels to rave about etc etc. Space a little cramped, but not surprising having seen the happy return-faces around us. Consider pre-booking. Portions more than we could manage. Next time we'll curb our greed and have a main only. An excellent venue and so handy for pre - theatre. And just a minute or two from the local Premier. Note in diary for Glasgow Theatre trips.

“Good Pre Theatre Choice”

Reviewed 28 April 2015

We visited the Amalfi prior to a show in the Theatre Royal in Glasgow. We were very happy with our choice, a good selection of dishes, not all Italian, friendly staff, and just ten minutes walk to the Theatre. The price was good too.

“Fantastic Italian”

Reviewed 18 April 2015

Have to say one of the best Italian's we have been too. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely atmosphere
Visited April 2015

“Good value, tasty lunch."

Reviewed 30 March 2015

Lunchtime during a shopping trip we intended to go to an Italian restaurant close to Buchanan Galleries we have visited several times before only to discover it apparently is no longer there. While walking up and down we noticed Amalfi and decided to pop in out of the rain.
We were greeted in a friendly manner and seated immediately. The restaurant space is quite small and is long and narrow. Banquet seating runs the length of the wall on one side with the tables arranged along it. The décor is unpretentious but it felt cosy and relaxed.
We settled for the table d'hote lunch menu with a reasonable selection and priced at £9.95 for two courses or £11.95 for three courses.
My wife chose mussels in a tomato sauce served with toasted bread, which she said was a lovely fresh tasting dish. I opted for the Minestrone soup accompanied by two generous slices of crusty bread and butter. The soup was packed full of chunky vegetables, tasted great and in an amount that was very filling. Our main courses were vegetable lasagne and "traditional fish and chips" My wife loved the lasagne, again fresh and tasty. My dish turned out to be an enormous haddock, in a tasty batter, perfectly fried and set atop lovely chunky chips and served with garden peas and tartare sauce. I am not at all a fan of deep fried dishes but this dish was done to perfection, not greasy and particularly well seasoned. I did struggle to finish it but it was so good I managed. Partly open kitchen allows a sight of the chefs working hard and cheerily and the service was friendly and efficient.
We would be interested in trying the main menu at Amalfi when we are in Glasgow of an evening.

“Friendliest Italian I've ever been to"

Reviewed 25 March 2015

Delicious food, a more than warm welcome and excellent value for money. We were shown the specials menu, which on its own is great value for money and then given a complimentary glass of wine each which was genorously topped up throughout the meal. I couldn't recommend this place more and cannot wait to return to try the homemade tiramisu! You also get a small shot of liqure with the bill

“Don't just walk on by"

Reviewed 23 March 2015

I've never noticed this restaurant before but passed it on the way to meet my mum at Buchanan Bus Station and decided to give it try as it was very handy for her getting the bus back home again. We ate from the lunch menu which offered a good variety of choices for starter and main course. We both had the fish and chips. The batter on the fish was light and crispy and the portions were very generous. The service was good and we didn't have to wait too long for our meals to arrive. We love Italian food so no doubt we'll be back.

“Excellent"

Reviewed 21 March 2015

We visited this restaurant for the 1st time and I must say I was pleasantly surprised.
I have walked past it several times but thought I would give it a go.

The quality of the food was outstanding and the service was great. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The portions are excellent and it's not overpriced like most of the surrounding restaurants.

I will definitely be returning and will recommend it to others.

“Lovely little Italian restaurant”

Reviewed 21 March 2015

First visit to Amalfi - Will definitely be back. Food superb and staff were very good also. Would advise anyone to try it.

“Fantastic first date!"

Reviewed 5 March 2015

Meal for me (just out of hospital, feeling drained) & my brilliant Geordie fella. They didn't have asparagus for my salmon pasta but obliged with mushrooms & NO ONIONS - ooohhh yess! Geordie lad even got a poke of chips with tomato sauce, as requested. Atmosphere & room cosy, food wonderful, toilets clean.... & they let us linger & canoodle.

Will return on our wedding anniversary (or might even get married there, as we plan to do it in jeans & teeshirts, with a bottle of wine).

“Grazie mille"

Reviewed 2 March 2015

perfectly placed for pre concert dinner just near the Royal Concert Hall. A really warm welcome and superb authentic Italian cuisine. We ate from the fixed price menu 3 courses for £14.95. A bargain. Delicious and fresh. Lovely to be able to see into the kitchen and see the chefs working so hard to turn out dish after dish. If it hadn't been so wet and windy we might have thought we were in Italy.

“Little gem 💎 💎💎”

Reviewed 28 February 2015

Fabulous food second time in 3 days...says it all Spaghetti Amalfi superb!! Staff friendly, and Ozzan what can I say!!

“What you would expect from a good Italian Restaurant”

Reviewed 27 February 2015

It's not large and it certainly is not pretentious, but from the pleasant staff, to the varied menu and the excellent food, this is the place to be. We slipped in for a quick lunch and were well pleased with our choice. Both the lunch menu and the à la carte were very well priced. I went for the set lunch with lots of choices at £9,95 for 2 courses and only £11.95 for 3. I chose the mussels, available in either a tomato or a cream sauce, they were fresh and excellent, with a wedge of garlic bread. I then had a huge pizza with a choice of toppings, it was good, and so large I could neither finish it, nor manage a dessert. My daughter went for a starter portion of pasta, which was more than enough for a main, and crisp freshly cooked chips.

“Im soo content right now”

Reviewed 25 February 2015

My partner and I decided to stop by for lunch, choosing to favour a smaller quainter resteraunt over the large chain up the road. It was the right choice. Such was the overall quality of everything I am still sat here whilst I write this. The staff are polite, attentive and friendly, the menu is great value three courses for 11.95. The portions were good enough we had to skip dessert. I had house soup and pizza which were both fresh, my partner had the mussles and risotto. Highly reccomend.

“A little gem!”

Reviewed 16 February 2015

Decided to have lunch in the Amalfi before heading back up north having been at a gig the night before. As we'd had a bit of a long lie this was more of a brunch really. We looked at the set menu but decided to go for the Amalfi pasta special on the main menu. What a fantastic choice! It arrived in tinfoil (which didn't seem to please a previous reviewer) and was piping hot. I have to say that it was one of the nicest pasta dishes we'd had! Service was good - thanks Nicola - and the meal was good value for money. We'll be back!

“Super Lunch”

Reviewed 15 February 2015

My pal and I decided to go for lunch prior to watching the two rugby Internationals on the box. WE looked at a few restaurants close to Buchanan bus station before picking on Amalfi at the top of West Nile St.. We were shown to a table immediately, given menus and offered a drink within three minutes of being seated. We plumped for the two course Table de Hote menu and neither of us were disappointed. John had bruschetta and I went for 12 mussels in white wine garlic and cream, served with garlic toast. For mains we both had the chicken and mushroom risotto and a side of two large slices of home made garlic bread. The cost for the two meals and drinks was less than £25 and it was worth every penny. We both love Italian food and we were agreed that the risotto was amongst the best we've ever eaten. I will absolutely return to Amalfi. Excellent food, excellent service and prices that don't give you a fright.

“Magic”

Reviewed 11 February 2015

After a wee view of the restaurants in the área we walked into this nice piece of italy that we can find in Glasgow. The food was really good,as you just can find in the Roma's pizzerias or Napoles'trattorias. The beer, a nice paint of peroni really Cold. But the service was the icing on the cake. The waitress called Nicola offered us a really profesional service. She looked after us nicely and we had a lovely chat after the meal. Definetly coming back. Really loved it.

“Super in every way.”

Reviewed 11 February 2015

Excellent food, freshly cooked, well presented, super service, lovely staff and pleasant surroundings. Highly recommended to anyone.

“Family Italian restaurant”

Reviewed 2 February 2015

I am often disappointed by Italian restaurants in the UK because they churn out bland food that bears no relation to Italian food proper. I spotted the Amalfi and thought it looked like a family run old-established restaurant and that is exactly what it is. The staff care about the service and the quality of the food. So refreshing! A group of four friends went for a meal before a Celtic Connections concert recently and we had a really good experience. My minestrone soup was perfectly balanced and I could tell it was made with real stock, not a cube and frozen diced vegetables. The other starters were good too and all the main courses were generously portioned and very tasty. My friends had the homemade Tiramisu and 'oohed' and 'aahed' until every last bit was gone. Next time I am in Glasgow I shall be back.

“First of hopefully many visits”

Reviewed 28 January 2015

Wonderful restaurant with first class staff - very attentive. Food delicious well worth a visit. We will definately be back and would recommend.

“Excellent little place for dinner”

Reviewed 23 January 2015

Lovely food and service great value for the flavour and hospitality. Would definitely go there again and recommend to any locals or visitors to glasgow

“Tip top recommend”

Reviewed 19 January 2015

Visited for a long Saturday lunch on a recommendation from a friend. I expected plain surroundings and delicious food. The food was amazing and the restaurant itself, although plain as described, had an authentic Italian ambiance. I asked if the Amalfi speciality spaghetti dish could be served as a vegetarian option, the waiter did not even have to check if this was alright, which made me think the restaurant must try to cater for everyone if if they can. I loved it and can't wait to go back in a few weeks for round two.

“Great food, large portions”

Reviewed 17 January 2015

Stopped in for lunch when passing through Glasgow. I had pizza with rocket, so good, and a salad. My husband had pepperoni pizza, which he liked. my daughter had soup and salad. We enjoyed our meal, server was friendly and prompt. Restaurant was decorated with photos of famous guests, and pictures of Italy. It was a nice meal.

“Baked spaghetti, fantastic, best pasta ever!!”

Reviewed 4 January 2015

Visited for the first time in years, was the Lido Cafe last time I was there, which did the best Knickerbocker Glories in Glasgow,food in Amalfi was really excellent. Special mention for the mozzarella fritti, and the amazing baked spaghetti (which just might be the best pasta I have ever tasted), tin foil packets of delight. To finish off the lemoncello icecream, amazing. Staff were lovely, very friendly. Will be back, it's a wee gem, recommend it.

“Pre theatre”

Reviewed 19 December 2014

We returned here again this year due to a show at the Concert Hall . We were not disappointed , the standard was as usual excellent , staff very welcoming and knowledgable and even remembered us from last year .Due to the time factor we only had time for a main but will try to come again when time is not a factor and we can savour the full menu , the salmon , pizza , risotto and pasta all were excellent with excellent portions . We will be back.

“Good Traditional Italian Food”

Reviewed 15 December 2014

We had lunch at the Amalfi when Christmas shopping. We started with minestrone and traditional Italian bread which was lovely. For the main courses we had chicken and vegetables and beef and vegetables. the sauces were very tasty and the meat was tender. The lunch deal is only £11.85 for two courses - a good bargain.

“Particularly nice staff”

Reviewed 11 December 2014

Stopped there a few weeks back, on my way down to London. Really nice food, but even better staff and service. Great place.

“Great little italian restaurant”

Reviewed 21 November 2014

Came in here after work. great selection of food. For starters I had Lamb and it was delicious. Went for pan fried sea bass served with a ratatouille sauce for mains. Quality yet again. Great customer service and very nice layout.

“fast and fresh!”

Reviewed 21 November 2014

Great for pre cinema. No frills Italian with fast, friendly service. Especially enjoyed the mussels in white wine......

“Nice cosy place in the heart of the shopping area”

Reviewed 18 November 2014

We went here after shopping in Buchanan gallery. The food was great, same with nice Frank Sinatra playing romantic music and friendly staff. We loved the place. They also have great coffee.

“A little gem”

Reviewed 9 November 2014

I don't know how we missed this restaurant but this a great find. We ,by chance, went in for lunch and were really surprised. The service was excellent. The food was first class too. We had the lunch menu with minestrone to start that was very tasty. It was accompanied by fresh bread that was delicious too. Both of us had risotto pollo which was also very good. The surroundings were very cosy so all in all a great wee find.

“Defo a must to visit !”

Reviewed 27 October 2014

Such a warm welcome on a very cold and rainy day. The food was fantastic and because we were unable to finish our pizzas they boxed it up for us to take home . Very reasonably priced and the decor is fab. We will definitely be returning.

“A great find”

Reviewed 23 October 2014

Stopped in for a late lunch on a chill day and was pleased with the warm welcome, great service, tasty food and reasonable prices. A pleasant stop while waiting for the train.

“A quick pre-theatre”

Reviewed 20 October 2014

Nipped in here on a Friday evening about 6 o'clock. The staff were warm, friendly and helpful. It is a small, narrow restaurant and I imagine space between tables could be an issue later on. We were promptly seated and given menus. My partner had the minestrone and I had the bruschetta. Both were very nice. For mains we both chose the mushroom risotto. It was lovely albeit very filling. To finish we both had ice cream and coffees. The meal was good value for money with great service. I would pay a return visit.

“Lovely little restaurant”

Reviewed 24 September 2014

We were staying in Glasgow on a Monday evening wandering around looking for somewhere to eat when we stumbled across Amalfi. As you would expect on a Monday, it wasn't busy so we easily got a table. The menu is varied and both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our pizzas. The staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you.
A good alternative to other Italian restaurant chains - keep little, family run restaurants going.